SupaDrift Round 06 took place this past weekend at Carnival City in Johannesburg, not only was this final battle of the year, it was also the annual Riaz Alibhai Memorial cup. A leg of the series that honors a lost friend and driver, who we lost 4 years ago in a tragic motoring accident.

Friday saw the drivers go out and get some practice runs in before Saturdays final battle of the 2018 season and the battle for the Championship points were on the line. Jason Webb came into round 6 with a massive 101point lead over Gavin Puren, Jim Mcfarlane, Zanil Satar and Shane Gutzeit; but that didn’t mean he was secured for the number one spot, as anything could happen before qualifying.

With rain in the late afternoon, Fridays practice was cut short, and a whole new mood fell over the drivers as they were not too sure what the weather would be like on race day, with phones outs & weather apps checked and rechecked, drivers were worried they would have to battle in out in the rain the next day; and with this short and flat circuit with a entry speed of between 90km/h and 110km/h washing straight into a wall ride after initiation, drivers were all looking for their brown pants.

Luckily come race day, the sun was out in full force and there was no signs of rain for the day and drivers went out for morning practice in full force putting pedal to the metal and getting in some stella runs before official qualifying. As usual we started with the Pro1. Drivers heading out, followed by the Pro drivers, with only a three drivers in the Pro1 and only fourteen drivers qualifying in Pro, we would have a single battle for the win in Pro1 and a top14 in the Pro; with Trevor Puren also wanting to do a battle in the Pro for the last event. Before heading into the final battles of the year, the drivers all made their way to the track for a driver parade and a 5minute of silence for Riaz as his brother Fayaaz and family members made their way to the track too in honors of Riaz.

Photo by LowBros

Pro1. saw Trevor Puren go up against Mellisa Nell (who was competing in her first ever Supadrift event), with the win going to Trevor Puren. With only 14 driver qualifying this would see top Qualifier’s Zanil Satar and Eric van Eyssen each have a bye run; how ever Eric went up against Trevor Pure from the Pro1. series. Mikey Skelton would go up against Aramand “Chucky” Bronkhorst; as Murphy would have it after the parade Mikey and Jim put on a little smoke demo, and as Mikey reversed into his pit area, the lower control arm broke, forcing Mikey to retire.

Adam Shefer battled Chris Landsberg, with the win going to Adam. Jason Webb battled David Nel, witht ht ewin going to Jason. Jim McFarlane battled Brendan Puren, with the win going to Jim. Gavin Puren battled Paul van Schalkwyk, with the win going to Gavin and finally in the Top16 Zein Hussen would battle David Rae, with the judges awarding an OMT, which meant both driver would need to face off again and the win going to Zein.

Top8 would see Zanil Satar battle Armand Bronkhorst, with a really tight battle and Armand knocking himself out in his lead run by taking out the front clipping point, handing the win to Zanil. Adam Shefer would battle Jason Webb, and this for me was the battle of the day as both driver stuck to each other for some of the closest tandems runs of the day. Eric van Eyssen battle Jim McFarlane, with Eric losing his momentum, Jim  McFarlane would take the win. Gavin Puren battled Zein Hussen, and once again Zein’s gremlins popped up and Gavin took the win.

Top4 would see Zanil Satar go up against Jason Webb, with a strong start to the run Jason stuck to the side of Zanil all the way till the final rear zone where Zanil just over shot the drift line and lost a little power forcing Jason to dive into the back of his car, but that didn’t stop Jason from finishing his run. With both drivers wounded from the run, Jason’s pit crew had to duct tape and cable tie his door to the body, while Zanil tried to fix his car too. Unfortunately the damage to Zanil’s car was too much for him to do a chase run and as he went out his motor gave way and Jason Webb took the win, this also meant he would not be able to do a battle for third.

Gavin Puren would face off against Jim McFarlane, with both drivers putting down great runs, Gavin Puren just out drifted Jim, and the win would go to Gavin Puren. With Zanil out, this meant Jim McFarlane would take the third spot for round06. The final battle and time for a grudge match between Gavin Puren and Jason Webb, as Jason had a score to settle with Gavin after Round05, when Gavin upset Jason’s winning streak for 2018. Jason would do the lead, while Gavin would give chase, and with both drivers hungry for the win, Gavin initiated side by side with Jason as they went into the first corner, Gavin just pushed too hard as he made contact with Jason; this unfortunately would cause Gavin’s drive shaft to snap and puncher his fuel tank, forcing him to retire. Jason Webb takes the win!

So that was it Round 06 over, and the final race for 2018… Jason Webb taking his 5th win for the season, plus the Championship title for 2018 as well as the Riaz Alibhai cup for the second time. With so many prizes to give out drivers made their way to the podium and trophies for days were handed out and when all was said and done, I dropped the mic on Supadrift series 2018, till next year!


Podium and Awards:

Round 06 Pro1.

1st Trevor Puren

2nd Mellisa Nell

3rd Adrian Bronkhorst

Round 06 Pro.

1st Jason Webb

2nd Gavin Puren

3rd Jim McFarlane

Super Mooove the Day:

Eric van Eyssen

Driver of the Day:

Zein Hussen

KZN Regionals:

1st Gavin Puren

2nd Shane Gutzeit

3rd Eric van Eyssen

Northern Regionals:

1st Jim McFarlane

2nd Zanil Satar

3rd Zein Hussen

Pro1 Overall:

1st Trevor Puren

2nd Tinashe Bondo

3rd Sebastian Rich

Pro Overall:

1st Jason Webb

2nd Gavin Puren

3rd Jim McFarlane

Driver of the Year:

Gavin Puren

Rooker of the Year:

Zanil Satar.